Misbah names 16-man squad for Bangladesh Tests


Head coach and chief selector Misbah-ul-Haq on Saturday named the 16-man squad for the Test series against Bangladesh which is to take place in Pakistan later this month.

Two changes have been made to the side that featured in the Test series against Sri Lanka. Kashif Bhatti and Usman Shinwari have been replaced by Bilal Asif and Faheem Ashraf.

“The reason to induct Bilal Asif is due to the number of left-handers [in the Bangladesh squad],” said Misbah, adding that the offspinner was picked over left-arm spin option Kashif Bhatti.

Fawad Alam, who was a part of the home series against Sri Lanka but did not get a game, has also been retained.

When asked if Alam or some others who make the squad but did not get game time will be tried against Bangladesh, Misbah said that that depends on the situation, stressing that he cannot try the entire squad in a series as he can only pick 11 players per match.

Misbah, responding to a question, admitted that lengthy breaks and the scattered nature of the cricket calendar where Test series are followed by limited overs cricket keeps his team from building any kind of rhythm.


Azhar Ali (captain)

Abid Ali

Asad Shafiq

Babar Azam

Bilal Asif

Faheem Ashraf

Fawad Alam

Haris Sohail


Imran Khan Snr

Mohammad Abbas

Mohammad Rizwan (wicketkeeper)

Naseem Shah

Shaheen Shah Afridi

Shan Masood

Yasir Shah

Follow news10.pk on Twitter and Facebook to join the conversation.